I’m Upside Down!

(Also, what happened to Tuesday?)

Today, the cryostat and I arrived in Sydney aboard the same United 747 from SFO.  After a brief pause in the airport to grab a mobile phone and a wireless broadband card, I took a taxi over to our shipping agent, Concordia International.  They had the cryostat already waiting for me, so I topped off the instrument with liquid nitrogen to ensure the detectors stayed cold.  Then we loaded the instrument crate and a spare cylinder of LN2 in a utility truck (or “ute”).  Then Tony, our driver, and I piled in to begin the four day drive to Alice Springs!

Harry from Concordia has managed the shipping to perfection.

Despite my jet lag, I really enjoyed the scenery today as we drove out of Sydney through New South Wales.  Beautiful green rolling hills gave way to vineyards and then to plains reminiscent of my home state of Illinois–although there we don’t have corn ready for harvest in February!  We’ve stopped for the night in Hay and grabbed a bite to eat at the local pub.

Rolling hills in NSW.

Corn ready for harvest!

Tomorrow: more driving!  Word is our sea container is already on the rail journey and will be there shortly after we arrive.

2 responses to “I’m Upside Down!

  1. … and another adventure begins !!…

    I’m ready to follow-up…this time at least from the same hemisphere!

    Fast climbings, longer flights and soft landings to all..

  2. Mark and Belinda

    ¡dıɹʇ pɐoɹ ʇɐǝɹƃ ɐ ǝʌɐɥ ¡noʎ ɹoɟ ʇsnɾ sıɥʇ ǝʞıן ǝdʎʇ oʇ ʍoɥ pǝuɹɐǝן ǝʍ ¡ɔıɹǝ ıɥ